Don't have an account? Click Here
Pinnick Wins Pac-12 Heptathlon Championship for ASU T&F
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Release: 05/05/2013
Print RSS
Courtesy: Sun Devil Athletics
Related Links

May 5, 2013


LOS ANGELES - Arizona State University track and field senior Keia Pinnick earned her first-ever Pac-12 Championship on Sunday, winning the heptathlon competition at the Pac-12 Multis in Los Angeles. 

Pinnick scored a new career-best of 5,801 points, which was just slightly better than her previous career high as she won two events on the final day of competition at Cromwell Field at Loker Stadium. 

The senior finished nearly 200 points ahead of runner-up Tatum Souza of UCLA (5,624 points) as she won the first individual outdoor conference honor of her career.

With the victory, Pinnick became the third Sun Devil to win the conference heptathlon championships in the past decade, giving ASU five titles in the event since 2004 (Jacquelyn Johnson had three while Samantha Henderson earned the other one). 

Pinnick opened Sunday with a winning mark of 5.92m (19-05.25) in the long jump to space out her lead over Souza.

That performance set Pinnick up to absolutely demolish her previous career best in the javelin throw by over two meters with a mark of 38.73m (127-01) that was far better than her previous career-high of 36.19m (118-09) set earlier this year.

The throw was good for fourth-place in the event and essentially allowed Pinnick to cruise in the 800-meter run, where she held of Colorado's Brianne Beemer to win in 2:15.06 to seal the deal and lock up with conference title. 

Pinnick won five events on the weekend and earned 10 points towards the ASU women's team score as the team prepares for the remainder of the competition set to take place in Los Angeles beginning Saturday, May 11 with the full range of events at the Pac-12 Championships. 


2004 - Jacquelyn Johnson, ASU
2005 - Julia Pickler, WSU
2006 - Jacquelyn Johnson, ASU
2007 - Julia Pickler, WSU
2008 - Jacquelyn Johnson, ASU
2009 - Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2010 - Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2011 - Samantha Henderson, ASU
2012 - Brianne Theisen, Oregon
2013 - Keia Pinnick, ASU


Arizona State Sun Devils Athletics
Sun Devil Mail
FB Renewals
MBB Renewals
MBB Renewals
Sun Devil Club Fall Campaign
FB Renewals